Day 2: Plyometrics

Day 2 was awesome!

5 am made for a good start time today. Got to be awake for a half hour before actually getting out of bed and getting the shorts and tanktop on. I did feel a little sore, but all the water and stretching yesterday appeared to have seriously helped the recovery… that is, until I got out of bed. Once I stood up and tried to move my arms a bit, the pain hit me…

“No problem,” I said as I grunted while trying to put on my deodorant. “I’ll just work through it and stretch it out in a little while.” Now, there are certain activities that should not be hindered by pain: driving, washing your hair, brushing your teeth, putting on deodorant… if this keeps up, my coworkers are soon going to hate me for coming in late and being completely unsanitary!

All kidding aside, this was a great workout. I’m diggin’ Plyometrics (jumping exercises)! Full intensity definitely broke me a sweat and worked the wind sacks, but not so sore on the quads as I though it would have been. As I say that, two things come to mind: (1) the “aftershocks” are usually worse than the actual “quake”; when it comes to exercise, the next day is when you feel it. And, (2) I have a leg workout in a couple of days, so I pray for recovery before then!

I will say, once the initial stretches were complete (I threw in some chest stretches too), I thought I was going to be fine. But, as I began hopping around like a frog trying to find a toilet (which is how to best sum up this workout routine since 3/4 of it is spent in a squatting position and just relocating around on the floor through various maneuvers), for some reason, the thought came to me: Anthony Kiedis in the “Under the Bridge” video in the running sequence… apparently, that guy hadn’t done the P90X chest workout the day before they shot that part of the video… just imagining those chest muscles moving that much made me chuckle AND cringe in the same moment!

A great break from Ab-Ripper X though I must say, but I get to give that another shot tomorrow after Shoulders & Arms, so I’m ready to “Bring It!”… and by “it”, I mean pain! All good, as long as it pays off in the end.

Time to stretch and hydrate!

pain

~ by Eat Fat, Get Skinny on February 26, 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
